Adelaide From My Point Of View

Having been in the Adelaide dance scene for just over two years now I’ve met some pretty talented people, here are some artists that I think are worth following.

Motez : My favourite Adelaide artist without a doubt with his groovy/jackin’ electro house, his productions are nothing but quality. Since his debut EP Raves are Dead early 2010 on local label Runt Records, he has somewhat blown up collaborating with Frederik Moij, remixing for Redsquad and having his own tracks remixed by the likes of nick supply and Jackinori.

His next release ‘No Need To Panic’ is soon to come out on Plasmapool Records with an amazing remix from adelaide dubstep producer Wayne Sunderland aka ‘Soul Oscillator’ . Both these artists are incredibly nice guys and quite frankly I was surprised they were from Adelaide!

Suss the release out here

http://soundcloud.com/tonicollision/sets/motez-no-need-to-panic-ep-plasmapool

Uberjakd: Now although we share a radio show and I’ve known this guy for some time now, Uberjakd is without a doubt one of the most promising talents strolling around lil old Adelaide. Gaining support from the likes of Angger Dimas, this cunt can make tunes! Holding residencies almost every night of the week it wont be long til he is touring nationally/internationally.

Here is one of his latest mixes with a ‘Re-jak’ (wtf is that?) of Afrojack’s Zeggie.

Zeggie – Uberjakd Rejak

http://www.mediafire.com/?bbwmbpy9tc55qd7

HQ resident Steve Hart: I didn’t really become aware of Steve until I started playing at the same venue he does. After a few drunk encounters, we got talking and I found this guy knows what he is talking about! A fellow logic user (big ups) he is signed to vicious records and making some big room house tunes that’ll get yo hands in the air!

My fav tune by him is this remix he has done for Dizzee Rascal, also check  his release ‘Change’ out now!

http://soundcloud.com/stevie-hart/dirtee-cash-stevie-hart-mix

Loot & Plunder: Two years running Adelaide’s most popular Dj’s. These guys were one of the influences that made me go ‘I wanna do that’ and start Djing. Pretty much the only thing keeping Adelaide’s Electric Circus alive in my opinion (remember its an opinion disco lovers, so don’t hate me) they are signed to Ajax’s Sweat It Out!. Amazing label recently putting out tunes like We No Speak Americano and Those Dancing Days. They have progressed alot in the last few years and are always interesting to follow so check out their stuff here.

http://soundcloud.com/loot-1/loot-plunder-deejays-thee-l-plate-mix

Bollocks Deejays! Tom Ganly & Andrew Dickinson, these guys are dickheads in a good way. Holding just as many residencies as good old Uberjakd above, last year they were voted in the top 5 most popular djs in the state. The future looks bright for Bollocks as their edits destroy dance floors, once they step foot in the production scene I’m sure the world will be at their feet.

http://soundcloud.com/bollocksone/bollocks-december-2010-mix-part-2-bangers

Brad Lee: Another young gun, although he is caucasian I swear he is a black dude on the inside. If you see him he’ll no doubt be walking around baked but he can sure spin some good tunes! Similar to Bollocks, once this gangster steps foot in the production scene look out world!

Although I vomit in my mouth a little bit every time I hear the song below (I hate aussie Hip Hop), this edit Brad and fellow Adelaide resident Dylan Sanders have made set the dance floor on fire.

Capt & Cooked: Scott Kavanagh & Steve Combe.

Last year made big waves in the whole blogsphere thing with edits and remixes for Sebastian, Yolanda Be Cool, Katy Perry and Klaxons. At the moment I feel these guys are raw talent but once they build up their sound these dudes will be swingin with the likes of Haezer, Cyberpunkers, Belzebass and more!

Noazi are two Adelaide lads who are somewhat undiscovered. Unlucky for Adelaide because their music is absolute fire and filth. Recently having a release out on Hot Small Records ‘Bacchanalia’ with remixes by Rubberteeth, Venooms and Whizz Kidz.

WellSaid aka ‘Mike Wells’: Not sure how this guy has stayed under the radar all these years but he is bound for something big, his deejay skills are fantastic and he has an ear for music. At the moment we are working on some tunes together in the studio so we’ll hopefully have some original work to show for ya’ll soon.

http://soundcloud.com/wellsaid/wellsaid-last-first-date-live-mix

So Adelaide is quite a talented little place if you know where to look. Although I didn’t mention everyone I wanted, I really cbf typing anymore so keep an eye on these guys for now!

One Response to “Adelaide From My Point Of View”

  1. PondCreature Says:

    Those dudes go alright. So does Seek N Destroy and Johnny Concept. Even those kids will be tearing it up in 2011!

Leave a comment